196.1 Meritorious Teaching Award

Created by: Dana Trebing on 06/07/2004
Category: 1 - Academic Affairs; 90 - Miscellaneous
Originator: President
Current File: 196.1
Adoption Date: 01/31/2013
Reviewed for Currency: 01/31/2013
Replaces File: 196.1
Date of Origin: 11/12/1975
Classification: Faculty
In Archive? 0

196.1 Meritorious Teaching Award


A. Background

In 1969, Alester G. Furman, Jr. and Janie Earle Furman endowed an annual award for meritorious teaching at Furman University.


B. Policy

The Alester G. Furman, Jr., and Janie Earle Furman Award for Meritorious Teaching is granted annually to a member or member(s) of the Furman faculty in recognition of teaching excellence.


C. Guidelines

1. Each recipient is acknowledged with a certificate and cash award, the amount to be determined annually by the President based upon income derived from the endowment fund.

2. The award is the result of a nomination process. The recipient(s) are announced in the spring commencement.

3. Each spring the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean invites students, faculty, staff, and alumni to submit nominations and supporting letters to the Dean by March 15. Selection is based on these letters.

4. Any member of the faculty who has taught one or more courses during the academic year is eligible for nomination.

5. Criteria: The recipient should

a. have a consistent record of teaching excellence,

b. have an extensive knowledge of and passion for his or her subject,

c. demonstrate a concern for student learning, and

d. cultivate a love of learning.

6. Selection is made by a committee whose membership shall consist of five (5) faculty members and two (2) alternates appointed annually by the Chair of the Faculty and five (5) students and two (2) alternates appointed by the President of the Student Government Association. Alternates will serve when the appointed members cannot. Membership should be representative of the diversity with the Furman community, including but not limited to gender, academic division, and years at Furman. Names of the committee members will remain anonymous. The Dean will serve as the non-voting chair.

7. A list of past recipients and past nominations with supporting letters of recent nominees will be available to the committee upon request. Supporting letters are kept for three (3) years. The Dean is responsible for archiving this information and updating it annually.