196.2 Meritorious Advising Award

Created by: Pat Teague on 02/06/1999
Category: 1 - Academic Affairs; 90 - Miscellaneous
Originator: President
Current File: 196.2
Adoption Date: 01/31/2013
Reviewed for Currency: 01/31/2013
Replaces File: 196.2
Date of Origin: 08/23/1994
Classification: Faculty
In Archive? 0

196.2 Meritorious Advising Award


A. Background

In 1969, Alester G. Furman, Jr. and Janie Earle Furman endowed an annual award for meritorious teaching at Furman. In 1994, acting on a request from Furman University, their son, Alester G. Furman III, agreed to the creation of an additional annual award--for meritorious advising--to be funded with income generated by the original endowment.


B. Policy

The Alester G. Furman, Jr., and Janie Earle Furman Award for Meritorious Advising is granted annually to a member or members of the Furman faculty or staff in recognition of academic advising excellence.


C. Guidelines

1. Each recipient is acknowledged with a certificate and cash award, the amount to be determined annually by the President based upon income derived from the endowment fund.

2. The award is the result of a nomination process. The recipient(s) of the award are announced at the spring commencement.

3. Each spring the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean invites students, faculty, staff and alumni to submit nominations and supporting letters to the Dean by March 15. Selection is based on these letters.

4. Any member of the faculty or staff engaged in academic advising during the academic year is eligible for nomination.

5. Criteria: The recipient should

a. have a consistent record of advising excellence,

b. demonstrate and cultivate knowledge of university regulations and curriculum,

c. show willingness to seek answers to advisees' questions,

d. establish rapport with students,

e. direct students toward enriching liberal arts experiences, and

f. exhibit concern for advisees' career goals and future plans.

6. Selection is made by a committee whose membership shall consist of five (5) academic advisors, one or two of whom should be members of the staff, and two (2) alternates appointed annually by the Chair of the Faculty and five (5) students and two (2) alternates appointed by the President of the Student Government Association. Alternates will serve when the appointed members cannot. Membership should be representative of the diversity with the Furman community, including but not limited to gender, academic division, and years at Furman. Names of the committee members will remain anonymous. The Dean will serve as the non-voting chair.

7. A list of past recipients and past nominations with supporting letters of recent nominees will be available to the committee upon request. Supporting letters are kept for three (3) years. The Dean is responsible for archiving this information and updating it annually.