001.2 Charter and Board of Trustees

Created by: Stephanie Ferguson on 08/17/2001
Category: 0 - General Administration; 00 - General
Originator: President
Current File: 001.2
Adoption Date: 12/05/2011
Reviewed for Currency: 12/05/2011
Replaces File: 001.2
Date of Origin: 11/12/1975
Classification: Faculty
In Archive? 0

001.2 Charter and Board of Trustees


A. Background

Furman University operates under a charter granted by the General Assembly of the State of South Carolina on December 20, 1850, as extended and amended on December 20, 1866; February 16, 1898; January 23, 1900; March 19, 1927; May 21, 1956; May 29, 1963; October 18, 1990; August 13, 1993; and November 16, 1996. In 1932, by arrangement between the two Boards of Trustees, the Greenville Woman's College was "coordinated" with Furman University, and the two institutions were consolidated completely in 1938.


B. Policy

The charter of Furman University fixes in the Board of Trustees the final authority for all institutional policies.


C. Guidelines

1. The Board of Trustees is self-perpetuating; the thirty (30) trustees are elected by the members of the Board of Trustees for three-year terms. Trustees are eligible to serve two successive terms. After serving two successive terms, a trustee may not be re-elected until he or she has been off the board for at least one year.

2. The duties and responsibilities of the trustees are described in the Charter and Bylaws of Furman University. Basic policies are decided by the Board of Trustees.

3. The Board of Trustees meets three times each year. Special meetings may also be called. The Chair of the Faculty (or a designated representative) and the President of the Student Government Association (or a designated representative) are invited to attend board meetings.

4. The standing committees of the Board of Trustees are: Academic Affairs, Athletics, Audit, Budget, Development, Executive, Finance, Grounds and Buildings, Nominating, Strategic Planning, Student Life, and University Relations. Recommendations of committees are brought before plenary sessions of the board for action. The Executive Committee has authority to make necessary decisions when the board is not in session.

5. One faculty member and one student meet with most trustees committees. The faculty member is selected by the President of the University from a list of nominees submitted by the Chair of the Faculty; the student is chosen by the President of the University from a list of nominees submitted by the President of the Student Government Association.